Facts and Stats from the Australian Grand Prix

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

- Lewis Hamilton started his 72nd race in Australia, meaning he shares the record with Jim Clark for the longest a driver has ever driven for only one team. Clark only raced for Lotus and whilst drivers such as Michael Schumacher started over 150 races for Ferrari, Hamilton has only ever raced for one team.

- Lewis Hamilton has now finished in a podium paying position in the first race of the season in 4 of the 5 years he has been in Formula One: 3rd in 2007, 1st in 2008, 3rd in 2010 (Bahrain) and 2nd yesterday. He should have finished 3rd in 2009, but then the Liegate scandal kicked off

- It was the first hat-trick of wins for Sebastian Vettel: Brazil 2010, Abu Dhabi 2010, Australia 2011. If his engine lasted 10 laps longer in Korea last year, it'd be 5 on the trot. It was Vettel's 11th win, 16th pole and 20th podium.

- Vettel’s pole position time of 1:23.529 was the fastest ever lap of the Albert Park Circuit

- Felipe Massa set a fastest lap for the first time since the Monaco Grand Prix in 2009

- Rubens Barrichello became the first driver to ever race in 19 different seasons of Formula One, eclipsing the previous record of 18 set by the late Graham Hill

- Paul di Resta was added to the list of drivers who have scored points in their first race, although it should have been Sergio Perez rather than di Resta, but sadly both Sauber drivers were disqualified. The last driver to make his debut for Sauber was Robert Kubica in the 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix. Incredibly, he was also disqualified after finishing 7th. Incidentally, it was the first time in 2 years since the last disqualification: Lewis Hamilton in this event in 2009, for lying to the stewards

- Vitaly Petrov became the first Russian to score a Formula One podium in his 20th race start. It ends a remarkable run of 41 races since the last time a new face appeared on the podium - Sebastian Vettel at the 2008 Italian Grand Prix.

- Narain Karthikeyan and Vitantonio Liuzzi became the first drivers to fail to meet the 107% rule since Alex Yoong failed to qualify within 107% of Michael Schumacher's pole time during qualifying for the 2002 German Grand Prix

- It was the first win for Pirelli since the 1991 Canadian Grand Prix and their first appearance since the 1991 Australian Grand Prix. It ends Bridgestone's win streak, with the Japanese tyre company not winning an F1 race for the first time since Alonso won for Michelin shod Renault in the 2006 Japanese Grand Prix. During that time, the next race of that season in Brazil - won by Felipe Massa - was the only race where Bridgestone had opposition.

- No driver leads the championship before the start of the season, but the leader of the world championship has failed to win a race since Jenson Button won the 2009 Turkish Grand Prix. Vettel can break that run next time out in Malaysia.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.