F1 doctor Hartstein to exit after 2012 season ends

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Gary Hartstein, the FIA's head doctor at Formula One events, has been informed that his contract will not be renewed after the 2012 season.

Hartstein currently travels to every race and resumed the role of medical delegate following the retirement of the late Professor Sid Watkins in 2005.

"Have just been informed that president of the FIA and president of FIA medical commission have decided not to renew my Formula 1 contract", Hartstein posted on Twitter ahead of the United States Grand Prix.

"Brazil will therefore be my 247th and last Formula 1 Grand Prix. It's been a life changing experience and something I'll never forget".

Hartstein also added that he is unsure why his contract has not been renewed.

"Not sure about the "why's" of the decision, but not down to me to know".

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.