Dominant Vettel storms to pole position in India

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

Sebastian Vettel set the fastest ever lap at the Buddh International Circuit to claim pole position for the Indian Grand Prix.

Vettel, who can wrap up a fourth world title on Sunday, set a time of 1:24.119 to beat Mercedes's Nico Rosberg by 0.752s.

Lewis Hamilton set the third fastest time, with Mark Webber opting to use the prime tyre and still managing the fourth fastest time.

Felipe Massa was fifth, ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Nico Hulkenberg.

Fernando Alonso chose to use the prime tyres in Q3 and will start from eighth.

Both McLaren drivers made it through to Q3 where they qualified on the prime tyres, with Sergio Perez ahead of Jenson Button.

Daniel Ricciardo was the first driver to miss out on a space in Q3 and starts from 11th, ahead of the 'home' team, Force India, with Paul di Resta in 12th and Adrian Sutil in 13th.

Jean-Eric Vergne, Valtteri Bottas and Esteban Gutierrez were also knocked out in the second segment of qualifying.

The surprise of Q1 was that Romain Grosjean failed to make it through the session.

Grosjean did not complete a lap on the option tyres and finished down in 17th place.

Pastor Maldonado set the 18th fastest time, with Marussia's Jules Bianchi just 0.128s behind the Williams.

Giedo van der Garde edged out Caterham team-mate Charles Pic, while Max Chilton rounded out the field.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.