Button takes Australian victory

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

Jenson Button wins the 2012 Australian Grand Prix

Jenson Button has claimed the first round of the season in Melbourne.

The Brit, 32, took the lead at the start and controlled proceedings from the front.

Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel finished second, with pole-sitter Lewis Hamilton completing the podium.

Mark Webber challenged Hamilton for third but ultimately had to settle for fourth place.

Fernando Alonso finished 5th for Ferrari having sustained pressure from Pastor Maldonado, who crashed out on the final lap.

Some last-lap chaos saw Kamui Kobayashi emerged in sixth, ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, Sergio Perez, Daniel Ricciardo and Paul di Resta.

A full analysis of the race will follow later.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.