Button: Hamilton move a big loss

By on Thursday, November 1, 2012

Jenson Button thinks that Lewis Hamilton's departure from McLaren is a big loss for the team.

Hamilton will move to Mercedes for the 2013 season; the first time in his F1 career that he will not race under the McLaren umbrella.

"With Lewis leaving, obviously the team loses a very fast driver, a guy that's achieved a lot with the team, wins and obviously a World Championship - the last guy to win a World Championship for the team. It is a big loss but things change and you learn to move on and adapt. It's definitely not the end of two strong drivers at McLaren".

Button was asked about what his future team mate, Sergio Perez, can bring to the team.

"Obviously it's very difficult to know what he [Perez] brings to the team, because he's not there yet. I think Sergio will be fast but I really don't know. He's obviously unknown in a McLaren, because he's not there yet. But it's a great opportunity for Checo and I'm sure he will take it with both hands".

Hamilton will join the same outfit that Button departed from in 2009 as world champion. Since Button's departure, the team - under Mercedes - has taken just a single victory and their former driver believes Hamilton could be in for a challenge at his new team.

"I think the first year with a new team is always a little bit tricky. It's a new experience for Lewis. I'm sure he's excited about it. I really don't know. He's as quick as they come but sometimes it's not that easy to win Grand Prix and to build a team around you and also to help a team achieve great results".

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Pat Flaherty won the 1956 Indianapolis 500.
  • Troy Ruttman won the 1952 Indianapolis 500.
  • Sam Hanks won the 1957 Indianapolis 500.
  • Jim Rathmann won the 1960 Indianapolis 500.
  • Michael Schumacher won the 2004 European Grand Prix.
  • Johnnie Parsons won the 1950 Indianapolis 500.
  • Graham Hill won the 1965 Monaco Grand Prix.
  • Bill Vukovich won the 1953 Indianapolis 500.
  • Rodger Ward won the 1959 Indianapolis 500.
  • Bob Sweikert won the 1955 Indianapolis 500.
  • Mika Häkkinen won the 1999 Spanish Grand Prix.