Button claims first pole for three years

By on Saturday, September 1, 2012

Photo credit: Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

Jenson Button claimed his first pole position since the Monaco Grand Prix in 2009.

Button's lap time of 1:47.573 was comfortably faster than his rivals, during a qualifying session which he dominated. It also marks Button's first pole position since he began driving for McLaren.

Joining Button on the front row will be Kamui Kobayashi, who put in a middle sector two tenths faster than anyone else. Pastor Maldonado will start from third place.

Kimi Raikkonen will be hoping to win his first race of the season and has put himself in a good position by qualifying fourth, narrowly ahead of Sergio Perez.

Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton will start sixth and seventh, with Hamilton making a crucial mistake on each of his flying laps in Q3.

World champion Sebastian Vettel was a surprise exit from Q2 and he will line up from 10th place, after team mate Mark Webber was given a five place penalty for a gearbox change. Webber will start from twelfth.

Felipe Massa's woes continue as he could manage only fourteenth place, one position behind former team mate Michael Schumacher. It was a dismal day for Mercedes, as Nico Rosberg will start from twenty third after a gearbox change.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.