Alonso tops quiet session in Monaco

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014
Scuderia Ferrari

Scuderia Ferrari

Fernando Alonso set the fastest time during a quiet second practice session ahead of this weekend’s Monaco Grand Prix, with most of the action coming during the final five minutes of running.

Alonso’s time of 1:18.482 was 0.419s quicker than championship leader Lewis Hamilton, with Sebastian Vettel in third.

A hailstorm hit the circuit during the lunch break and duly left the track soaked as the session began.

Valtteri Bottas took to the track on Intermediates but there followed a silence as no-one opted to venture out.

After 40 minutes the quiet was broken by Sauber’s Adrian Sutil, with several rivals soon also hitting the circuit.

The Toro Rosso drivers traded the quickest times until Sebastian Vettel and Kevin Magnussen enjoyed spells at the top.

Jenson Button then set the fastest lap until the final 10 minutes of the session, when the circuit dried sufficiently for supersoft tyres to be fitted.

Jean-Éric Vergne lowered the benchmark until Nico Hülkenberg and Fernando Alonso went even faster.

The times continued to fall during the dying moments of the session, with Alonso blitzing the opposition to end the day on top by almost half a second.

Hamilton and Vettel were his nearest challengers, ahead of Vergne and Bottas.

Pérez and Hülkenberg were sixth and seventh, with Button in eighth, while Daniel Ricciardo and Magnussen rounded out the top 10.

Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen suffered a gearbox problem as he had to coast around to return to the pits, with the issue truncating his session after just four laps.

114Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:18.48215
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.9010.41912
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:19.0170.53515
425Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:19.3510.86914
577Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:19.4210.9399
611Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:19.6681.1869
727Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:19.7121.23010
822Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:19.7211.23916
93Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:19.7791.29711
1020Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:20.2301.74816
1119Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:20.3941.9128
1226Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:20.6222.14013
1399Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:20.8112.3298
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:20.9772.4957
1521Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:21.4672.9858
168Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:21.7003.2186
1710Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:21.9243.4426
1817Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:21.9373.45513
194Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:22.6834.20113
206Nico RosbergMercedes1:22.8624.38011
219Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:23.1644.6826
227Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:45.50927.0274

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.