Alonso tops first session in China

By on Friday, April 18, 2014
Scuderia Ferrari

Scuderia Ferrari

Fernando Alonso gave new Ferrari boss Marco Mattiacci a promising start after setting the quickest time during the opening practice session for this weekend's Chinese Grand Prix.

Alonso was almost four tenths of a second faster than championship leader Nico Rosberg at a cool Shanghai International Circuit on Friday morning.

Daniel Ricciardo was the only other driver to get within a second of Alonso's time as he was third quickest for Red Bull, ahead of McLaren's Jenson Button.

Nico Hulkenberg was fifth quickest for Force India, with Kevin Magnussen in sixth and Jean-Eric Vergne in seventh.

Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Felipe Massa rounded out the top 10.

A number of drivers suffered from technical problems during the session.

A clutch issue meant that Esteban Gutierrez did not emerge in his Sauber until the final 30 minutes of the session, while Jules Bianchi had a fuel system problem and managed just a few laps at the end of the running.

Kimi Raikkonen was less fortunate as he completed just a single installation lap.

114Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:39.78320
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:40.1810.39816
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:40.7720.98923
422Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:40.9701.18723
527Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:41.1751.39216
620Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:41.3661.58320
725Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:41.5051.72226
844Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:41.5601.7779
91Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:41.6291.84619
1019Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:41.6991.91614
1126Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:41.9772.19423
128Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:42.0902.30724
1340Felipe NasrWilliams-Mercedes1:42.2652.48213
1436Giedo van der GardeSauber-Ferrari1:42.6152.83216
1511Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:42.7332.95013
1613Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:43.7313.94822
1710Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:44.0384.25516
1821Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:44.1624.37917
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:44.2704.4877
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:44.7824.99920
219Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:44.8355.05222
227Kimi RäikkönenFerrariNo time1

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.