Clutch in F1 cars

This forum gives you a chance to be able to communicate with your fellow F1 fans.
Post Reply
User avatar
musashi_sw
GP2 Driver
GP2 Driver
Posts: 234
Joined: 02 May 2007, 18:43

Clutch in F1 cars

Post by musashi_sw » 15 Feb 2009, 14:44

Sorry if the question sound stupid, but i i'm not sure,
well f1 cars have the clutch in the steering weel, to change the gears they have to press the clutch and the gear shift or simply press the gear shift?

sorry for my bad english :huh:
Image

User avatar
coup
F1 Rookie
F1 Rookie
Posts: 645
Joined: 29 Mar 2008, 18:08
Location: North-West England

Re: Technical Question

Post by coup » 15 Feb 2009, 15:26

I think they only use the clutch at the start, and just press the gear shift to change gears during the race
Image

marty
kart driver
kart driver
Posts: 99
Joined: 04 Aug 2007, 15:26

Re: Technical Question

Post by marty » 15 Feb 2009, 20:09

you only need to use the clutch for leaving the pits and the start.

seeing as the gearbox is a dog box (has dog rings instead of synchro rings) and has straight cut teeth you can change gears without a clutch as long as on the down change the revs are matched properly and there is a slight lift in throttle on the upshift (altho that might not be needed with the new seamless transmissions) but the computer controls the blips and the throttle cut on the upshift. They are of a sequential design instead of your conventional H pattern design in a road car. This means instead of needing a leaver to move the shifter they can simply use a solenoid to push the leaver on the gearbox to make the gear change.

hope that helps

User avatar
blizzard
F1 Driver
F1 Driver
Posts: 1169
Joined: 15 Jun 2008, 15:07
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: Clutch in F1 cars

Post by blizzard » 16 Feb 2009, 13:01

great explanation marty! thx
Image

Post Reply